Information about Iran: Iran, also called Persia, and officially the Islamic Republic of Iran, is a country in Western Asia. It is bordered to the northwest by Armenia and Azerbaijan, to the north by the Caspian Sea, to the northeast by Turkmenistan, to the east by Afghanistan, to the southeast by Pakistan, to the south by the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman, and to the west by Turkey and Iraq. Its central location in Eurasia and proximity to the Strait of Hormuz give it significant geostrategic importance. Tehran is the capital and largest city, as well as the leading economic and cultural hub; it is also the most populous city in Western Asia, with more than 8.8 million residents, and up to 15 million including the metropolitan area. With 83 million inhabitants, Iran is the world's 17th most populous country. Spanning 1,648,195 km2 (636,372 sq mi), it is the second largest country in the Middle East and the 17th largest in the world. Read More...

Regions of Iran

Region 1
Capital: Tehran
Population: 23,343,033
Area: 193,109
Provinces: Alborz Province, Golestan Province, Mazandaran Province, Qazvin Province, Qom Province, Semnan Province, Tehran Province

Region 2
Capital: Isfahan
Population: 12,973,089
Area: 354,885
Provinces: Bushehr Province, Chaharmahal and Bakhtiari Province, Fars Province, Hormozgan Province, Isfahan Province, Kohgiluyeh and Boyer-Ahmad Province

Region 3
Capital: Tabriz
Population: 12,782,820
Area: 165,839
Provinces: Ardabil Province, East Azerbaijan Province, Gilan Province, Kordestan Province, West Azerbaijan Province, Zanjan Province

Region 4
Capital: Kermanshah
Population: 11,739,552
Area: 185,978
Provinces: Hamadan Province, Ilam Province, Kermanshah Province, Khuzestan Province, Lorestan Province, Markazi Province

Region 5
Capital: Mashhad
Population: 13,145,227
Area: 734,576
Provinces: Kerman Province, North Khorasan Province, Razavi Khorasan Province, Sistan and Baluchestan Province, South Khorasan Province, Yazd Province

Comments are closed.